VintageBigBlue.org

 

Re: [Losmandy_users] Re: owner reviews of titan mount


May 4, 2016

 


----------------------------

#57379 May 4, 2016

Hi all,

���� I have a G11, and although its mechanically strong, I have had to��do ��a few mods to get it to work like it probably should have to start with.

�� I am looking at upgrading to a mount that will handle a bigger�� optical tube and associated guiding equipment.�� I am looking at the Titan. I would like some input here.Will I have to do a lot of mods to it so it will work like it should to start with?There are some fantastic mounts out there these days, some saying one arc second guiding automatically out of the box!

Thanks for your honest input.������ ���������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������� Leroy



----------------------------

#57381 May 4, 2016

You can figure on around the same amount of work with the Titan as the G11.��

There are now mounts that can track unguided at less than one arc second out of the box, but you will pay a good amount��more��for them.

Ed ThomasDeep Space Productswww.deepspaceproducts.com



----------------------------

#57383 May 4, 2016

The Meade Starlock�� 90 pound handling equatorial�� comes completewith GPS, built in guide scope with guide camera, polar align camera, 144,000goto,�� auto PEC�� PPEC���� auto drift align in case youwant�� better than 1 arc second and much more�� for $800 less thana�� Titan with Gemini 2.���� It.s a plug and play nothing else tobuy astrophotography mount. And Meade is not alone these days in some verycompetitive equipment and price points.�������� So the new Titan requires a better worm and motors andgear boxes ?������ I was hoping that the newer Losmandy Titans��had some upgrade to them. I�� am still considering the Titan, but thecompetition is making it tough.��Leroy��From: mailto:Losmandy_users@yahoogroups.comSent: Wednesday, May 04, 2016 9:26 PMTo: Losmandy_users@yahoogroups.comSubject: [Losmandy_users] Re: owner reviews of titanmount



----------------------------

#57384 May 5, 2016

Leroy, I wouldn't go by published specs alone. Meade products have had major quality/design issues for years. I don't have any experience with Starlock 90, but I'll never go back to Meade products again after having spent countless nights fighting with a bad design and poor execution of the mount mechanism on various LX-* mounts.

I don't know exactly what or why you'd want to upgrade on a Titan. Having owned one for many years, I've not upgraded a thing on the mount, have not needed to adjust the mount for nearly 4 or 5 years, and the mount lives outside, under a tarp in the cold/hot/humid North Eastern US weather.��

Some other mounts might have a lower periodic error for more money. My Titan comes stock with about 8 arcsecs PE peak-to-peak. After training PEC, it is reduced to around 1 arcsecond. Why would I want to spend thousands of $$$ more for a mount that provides the same capabilities? I just re-train PEC every 6 months.

As far as weight, I usually don't overload it, but I do load it up with a 12" F5 metal tube newtonian with a guide scope, and that is a total of around 100 pounds with a very long and heavy tube. Titan handles this well.

My Titan is as close as I've ever come to a set it and forget it mount in my life. When I go out imaging, I carry all my equipment out, except for the Titan. And I often have problems with cameras, PCs, cables, power, software. I don't remember the last time I had an issue with my mount. It just works. Of course, YMMV.

Regards,

�� �� -Paul



----------------------------

#57386 May 5, 2016

I have owned Meade (Lx200 Classic fork and Lx75) ,Celestron and my current mount is a Titan 50 upgraded to a Gemini 2 from the original Gemini 1.

After the usual teething issues with the Titan, e.i. swapped Dec with R.A. worm assembly to lower the P.E. as�� Dec worm was smoother after testing. adjust worm spacing summer and winter . This mount handles an AT 10" RC and Orion Eon 120 on side by side saddle with aplomb. The�� Losmandy mounts have be in production for ages and the experience and support of the community is�� an amazing resource.

My experience with Meade is that after a few years they don't supply much support as they have moved on to another product and would rather have you upgrade.

Best of Luck with your new purchase

Brian



----------------------------

#57387 May 5, 2016

I agree with others.







I know nothing of the Titan mount, other than that it seems to suffer from the same nonsense the G11 suffers from.a fine mount once you do a bunch of upgrades that should be standard.







As for Meade.s offerings, I have owned three Meade mounts.LX200, LXD650, RCX400. All worked great, and were fine for astrophotography. Well, right up until they died, and Meade refused to support them. That.s something north of $10,000 of equipment I bought from Meade that ended up absolutely worthless. The LX850 mount seems to be an interesting mount, but I chose a Losmandy when I was looking for a mount for my yard, simply because I don.t trust Meade to make things that last, or to support them when they don.t last. Also, if you.re planning to use the mount for imaging, the Starlock is not useful for guiding for any long focal length.







Mark







From: bhender447@... [Losmandy_users] [mailto:Losmandy_users@yahoogroups.com]

Sent: Thursday, May 5, 2016 7:59 AM

To: Losmandy_users@yahoogroups.com

Subject: [Losmandy_users] Re: owner reviews of titan mount











I have owned Meade (Lx200 Classic fork and Lx75) ,Celestron and my current mount is a Titan 50 upgraded to a Gemini 2 from the original Gemini 1.



After the usual teething issues with the Titan, e.i. swapped Dec with R.A. worm assembly to lower the P.E. as Dec worm was smoother after testing. adjust worm spacing summer and winter . This mount handles an AT 10" RC and Orion Eon 120 on side by side saddle with aplomb. The Losmandy mounts have be in production for ages and the experience and support of the community is an amazing resource.



My experience with Meade is that after a few years they don't supply much support as they have moved on to another product and would rather have you upgrade.



Best of Luck with your new purchase



Brian











[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]







----------------------------

#57388 May 5, 2016

Theres only one problem with Meade or Celestron. When it comes time to find parts or get easy service, you are SOL. Then there.s the quality piece. Have not seen anything from these companies in a few years because I.m just not interested but quality always was poor. If I ever upgrade, it will be to something used, made by Astrophysics.



Ross



----------------------------

#57390 May 5, 2016

What Ross says about Meade is correct.�� There are no parts sold and who knows about service from a dying company.�� He is not correct about Celestron though.�� Celestron sells parts and I sell their complete parts line and even got non-listed parts when necessary when I service their mounts.�� That said, going to Celestron from the G11 would a lateral step at best while going to Meade would simply be a mistake.�� The G11 is about the only intermediate mount out there.�� The Titan gives you more capacity but no better performance out of the box.�� If you are looking for both better performance out of the box and greater capacity, then you are talking about a premium mount and shouldn't waste your time on anything else.�� Better to save and buy a premium mount once than buy numerous non-premium mounts trying to work your way up to a premium mount.�� This means that you are looking at spending a minimum of $5000 and that is for a used one.�� To get a significantly greater capacity than the G11 then you are spending well above $5000.

Ed ThomasDeep Space Productswww.deepspaceproducts.com



----------------------------

#57391 May 5, 2016

Thanks to all for your input, I am likely to stick with the known entity ofthe Titan.I needed a little encouragement, it.s a big purchase for me. Probably mylast.

���� Has there been a need for a better worm on the Titan or is itthe sort of normal adjustment/break in thing?��At least I can work on a Titan�� after my years with the G11,and there are volunteer supporters here who can help.����To be fair�� I only used Meade as one of several. I am not picking onthem.I own some Meade that is old now but still does what it is supposedto.But there were problems at times, and they used to have a lifetimewarranty( 1 year now)My first�� Meade they actually adapted a new superior drive boardbecause parts were not available.���� Again, thanks for your honest input.���� Leroy, soon to be owner or a Titan.��From: mailto:Losmandy_users@yahoogroups.comSent: Thursday, May 05, 2016 8:58 AMTo: Losmandy_users@yahoogroups.comSubject: [Losmandy_users] Re: owner reviews of titanmount



Contact Us
This Site's Privacy Policy
Google's privacy policies

S
e
n
i
o
r
T
u
b
e
.
o
r
g